HomeFAQRegisterLog inContact
Become a member of the Steelers Xtreme community to join in on the discussions and get access to members-only forums. Registering is free and easy.

Share | 
 

 Ledyard: Poor Review, Poor Coaching, Poor QB Decision, Poor Loss

Go down 
AuthorMessage
Hawaii 5-0

avatar

Posts : 2445
Likes : 1135
Join date : 2015-04-19

PostSubject: Ledyard: Poor Review, Poor Coaching, Poor QB Decision, Poor Loss   Tue Dec 19, 2017 2:10 am

Ledyard: Poor Review, Poor Coaching, Poor QB Decision, Poor Loss

Jon Ledyard didn't like much about the end of the Patriots*****' come-from-behind 27-24 win against the Steelers. He broke it all down in notebook form.

Jon Ledyard - Dec 17

Let’s address the end of the game. The rule by the NFL is obviously laughable, but even then I’m not totally sure why Jesse James’ catch was overturned. He caught the ball, both feet down, turned upfield and extended the ball. That’s a football move, so at what point does it become a fumble? Is it just because he was diving as he caught it? Also, there is no angle that showed the ball touch the ground, just that it moved. James hand is underneath it as far as we can see. So the rule is awful, but I’m not even sure the call was correct. And they're telling me there was enough evidence to overturn it? Show me the replay that confirms that.

* Keith Butler man -- what a dud he turned in during the second half. Rob Gronkowski destroyed Sean Davis, and the Steelers' defensive coordinator made no adjustments, refusing to double or bracket Gronkowski despite no threat from anyone else on the Patriots*****. Mike Tomlin deserves some blame too, as he needs to be more willing to step in and take charge of situations like that. The officials deserve a lot of blame for taking a win away from Pittsburgh, but the Steelers' defensive staff was an embarrassment for not making another player beat them.

* The two-point conversion was the most jaw-dropping aspect of the Steelers' decision-making defensively. How many times has Davis been isolated one-on-one as an outside corner in press man this season? Why in the world would anyone think that suddenly putting him in that spot against arguably the best skill player the Steelers have faced all season would be a good idea? Davis got completely toasted, didn’t jam Gronkowski at all and nearly fell over just trying to track him on the fade route. There’s no excusing Davis’ play, or the dropped interception that would likely have ended the game, but the coaching staff didn’t give him much of a shot to succeed either.

to read rest of article:

https://scout.com/nfl/steelers/Article/Patriots*-Steelers-Poor-Officiating-Poor-Coaching-Poor-QB-Decision-112406231

_________________
Back to top Go down
effyou515



Posts : 3189
Likes : 537
Join date : 2011-09-28
Location : Fort Worth Texas

PostSubject: Re: Ledyard: Poor Review, Poor Coaching, Poor QB Decision, Poor Loss   Tue Dec 19, 2017 8:03 am

RULE MISAPPLICATION and THE BRAINWASHING OF AMERICA
December 18, 2017 by Still Mill




I rewatched the NFL Fukjob overturn again this morning.  About 30 times.

What this play is, is one GIANT misapplication of a jackassed rule...

AND THE COMPLETE BRAINWASHING of America.


The NFL has gone to great lengths over the past 3 years to brainwash the country into what a "catch" really is.
They have been systematic at it, they have been relentless at it, and they have been monotonous at it.
Over and over and over and over --- the NFL REPEATS that a catch has to go "through the process of coming to the ground".
They EVEN re-looked at it in the competition committee and left it exactly the way it was.


http://www.stillers.com/Article/View/0cdd7e78-b96a-4fed-87e4-0bda46bedb01

Stillers.com they are big Steelers fans who give no quarter rating players or coaches, win or lose.

_________________
I played this so loud my neighbor threw a brick through my window so could hear it better!!!
Back to top Go down
Hawaii 5-0

avatar

Posts : 2445
Likes : 1135
Join date : 2015-04-19

PostSubject: Re: Ledyard: Poor Review, Poor Coaching, Poor QB Decision, Poor Loss   Tue Dec 19, 2017 2:20 pm

Mike Tomlin defends Big Ben's fake spike vs. Pats*

By Kevin Patra
Around the NFL writer
Published: Dec. 19, 2017

In hindsight, Ben Roethlisberger regrets not taking matters into this own hands and spiking the ball on third down to stop the clock at the end of Sunday's loss to the New England Patriots*.

to read rest of article:

http://www.nfl.com/news/story/0ap3000000895612/article/mike-tomlin-defends-big-bens-fake-spike-vs-Pats*

_________________
Back to top Go down
Wallace108

avatar

Posts : 17508
Likes : 1462
Join date : 2011-04-03
Location : Y'Town, Ohio

PostSubject: Re: Ledyard: Poor Review, Poor Coaching, Poor QB Decision, Poor Loss   Tue Dec 19, 2017 2:47 pm

If they had spiked the ball, kicked the field goal, and then lost in overtime, Steeler Nation would be more outraged than they are now, led by the gripe of "Why didn't they take one shot at the endzone and try to win the game? And then kick the field goal on 4th down?? FIRE EVERYONE!!"

No, running a play was the right decision. It was just the wrong play and/or executed poorly. In that situation, the quarterback has to put the ball where one of two things happens ... touchdown or incomplete pass. You don't throw the ball where the defense has an opportunity to pick it off.

_________________


If you're going to be a smart ass, you'd better be smart. Otherwise, you're just an ass.
Back to top Go down
http://www.steelersxtreme.com/
LambertWardSteel



Posts : 633
Likes : 160
Join date : 2015-05-14
Location : Myerstown PA

PostSubject: Re: Ledyard: Poor Review, Poor Coaching, Poor QB Decision, Poor Loss   Tue Dec 19, 2017 4:38 pm

@Wallace108 wrote:
If they had spiked the ball, kicked the field goal, and then lost in overtime, Steeler Nation would be more outraged than they are now, led by the gripe of "Why didn't they take one shot at the endzone and try to win the game? And then kick the field goal on 4th down?? FIRE EVERYONE!!"

No, running a play was the right decision. It was just the wrong play and/or executed poorly. In that situation, the quarterback has to put the ball where one of two things happens ... touchdown or incomplete pass. You don't throw the ball where the defense has an opportunity to pick it off.

I agree with this. Had the TD worked it we'd be happy with the play and results. I think kicking a FG and losing OT would be more grueling right now and there would be a flood of "they should have at least thrown it into the end zone" thinking.

Back to top Go down
effyou515



Posts : 3189
Likes : 537
Join date : 2011-09-28
Location : Fort Worth Texas

PostSubject: Re: Ledyard: Poor Review, Poor Coaching, Poor QB Decision, Poor Loss   Tue Dec 19, 2017 4:43 pm

@Wallace108 wrote:
If they had spiked the ball, kicked the field goal, and then lost in overtime, Steeler Nation would be more outraged than they are now, led by the gripe of "Why didn't they take one shot at the endzone and try to win the game? And then kick the field goal on 4th down?? FIRE EVERYONE!!"

No, running a play was the right decision. It was just the wrong play and/or executed poorly. In that situation, the quarterback has to put the ball where one of two things happens ... touchdown or incomplete pass. You don't throw the ball where the defense has an opportunity to pick it off.

you know Steeler Nation half would be pissed off because tied the game to go into overtime the other half would be glad the game went to overtime but all would have been pissed because of the loss.

_________________
I played this so loud my neighbor threw a brick through my window so could hear it better!!!
Back to top Go down
jak341

avatar

Posts : 1996
Likes : 503
Join date : 2015-04-09
Location : Pittsburgh

PostSubject: Re: Ledyard: Poor Review, Poor Coaching, Poor QB Decision, Poor Loss   Tue Dec 19, 2017 5:21 pm

Going for it was the right call. I would have spiked it, and called in a "clean" play.

Heck, if you asked me, I would have gone for it on the previous drive when it was 4th and a foot.
Back to top Go down
Steeler-in-west

avatar

Posts : 382
Likes : 73
Join date : 2015-04-16
Location : Pacific rim

PostSubject: Re: Ledyard: Poor Review, Poor Coaching, Poor QB Decision, Poor Loss   Tue Dec 19, 2017 9:34 pm

@Wallace108 wrote:
If they had spiked the ball, kicked the field goal, and then lost in overtime, Steeler Nation would be more outraged than they are now, led by the gripe of "Why didn't they take one shot at the endzone and try to win the game? And then kick the field goal on 4th down?? FIRE EVERYONE!!"

No, running a play was the right decision. It was just the wrong play and/or executed poorly. In that situation, the quarterback has to put the ball where one of two things happens ... touchdown or incomplete pass. You don't throw the ball where the defense has an opportunity to pick it off.

I liked going for it there also, but a fade in the corner to Bryant, who was on, or JJSS who likes to fight for the ball made much more sense,
Back to top Go down
Wallace108

avatar

Posts : 17508
Likes : 1462
Join date : 2011-04-03
Location : Y'Town, Ohio

PostSubject: Re: Ledyard: Poor Review, Poor Coaching, Poor QB Decision, Poor Loss   Tue Dec 19, 2017 9:48 pm

@Steeler-in-west wrote:
@Wallace108 wrote:
If they had spiked the ball, kicked the field goal, and then lost in overtime, Steeler Nation would be more outraged than they are now, led by the gripe of "Why didn't they take one shot at the endzone and try to win the game? And then kick the field goal on 4th down?? FIRE EVERYONE!!"

No, running a play was the right decision. It was just the wrong play and/or executed poorly. In that situation, the quarterback has to put the ball where one of two things happens ... touchdown or incomplete pass. You don't throw the ball where the defense has an opportunity to pick it off.

I liked going for it there also, but a fade in the corner to Bryant, who was on, or JJSS who likes to fight for the ball made much more sense,

Yep. And maybe I missed the explanation, but I'm still not sure why DHB was in the game at that point instead of Bryant.

_________________


If you're going to be a smart ass, you'd better be smart. Otherwise, you're just an ass.
Back to top Go down
http://www.steelersxtreme.com/
Hawaii 5-0

avatar

Posts : 2445
Likes : 1135
Join date : 2015-04-19

PostSubject: Re: Ledyard: Poor Review, Poor Coaching, Poor QB Decision, Poor Loss   Wed Dec 20, 2017 7:36 pm

Inside the NFL shows how unprepared the Steelers were at end of game

Mike Florio,ProFootball Talk on NBC Sports

Plenty of post-game discussion has emerged following Pittsburgh’s mishandling of the final two offensive snaps of the 27-24 loss to the Patriots*. But the most telling words were those uttered at the time the events were unfolding.

This week’s Inside the NFL has some of those words, and they underscore how unprepared the Steelers were for the events that transpired after the league office overturned a Jesse James touchdown catch. Ben Volin of the Boston Globe has posted some of the details on Twitter.

Coach Mike Tomlin made it clear to offensive coordinator Todd Haley that, if the next play after the reversal (second and goal) ended with the clock still ticking, the Steelers would run another play.

“If it’s in the field of play, we got to play,” Tomlin said to Haley. “You follow me? You got me?”

Tomlin then says to Haley, “Give [quarterback Ben Roethlisberger] a play. He can’t clock it. Give him a play.”

But the Steelers had only one play. And Roethlisbeger consistently has said that, as he was planning to “clock it” after a short pass to Darrius Hayward-Bey kept the clock ticking, the coaches were telling him not to. Roethlisberger also has said that the Steelers didn’t have two plays ready after the touchdown was overturned, which seems to be accurate.

to read rest of article:

https://www.yahoo.com/sports/nfl-films-shows-unprepared-steelers-180952845.html

_________________
Back to top Go down
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: Ledyard: Poor Review, Poor Coaching, Poor QB Decision, Poor Loss   

Back to top Go down
 
Ledyard: Poor Review, Poor Coaching, Poor QB Decision, Poor Loss
Back to top 
Page 1 of 1

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
 :: Football & Other Sports :: Steelers Talk-
Jump to: